I sometimes feel like the luckiest person alive…When I read or see or become aware of something that seems like it will solve a hard problem for me, stuff like low self esteem , emotional pain about the past, or anything else that is negative feeling for me…all I have to do is write words about a new way of managing it, and then sing those words often, and then they re-program my inner beliefs and self talk.

Reading a book called “What to Say When You Talk to Yourself by Shad Helmstetter made me realize that I can apply the concepts of the book in this way.

In fact the songs I have already written need only be practiced more often for me to get the results I want…which has a double benefit – I have been looking for a way to motivate myself to practice more hours every day!

But if you don’t write songs you can still do the same thing…As the book explains there are many ways to use self talk to reprogram yourself to get the results you want.

You can talk out loud to yourself, or silently to yourself, or create a conversation about a certain situation and direct with only the talk that leads you to your desired outcome, banishing all the self defeating messages, or write the self talk that you choose, or read self talk in a book like the one I just mentioned.  You can also record your own self talk and then play the recording…

But the key is, only YOU are in charge of it.  No one has ever thought a thought in your head, EVER, and no one ever will, except for you.  It is like you have your own 24 hour coach there to give you the words of empowerment and support and motivation that you need to overcome any block, to counter any thoughts or emotions that are preventing you from doing things you need and want to do, and feeling how you want to feel.  You can earn the money you want to earn, doing your own art or using the skills you choose to sell, either as an employee or on your own.

Another book that many of you may be aware of that has great self talk is Louise Hay’s “You Can Heal your Life”

Whether you use these books or make up your own words, this is a powerful tool.  I hope it helps you today and I intend to make my day much better than the previous ones by using the power of self talk.

I love your comments, please share!

